Rainy Day Reflections

img_5325
Rena Clayton Rolfe, 20, senior at SMU, walks through a neighborhood alleyway in Dallas, Texas October 14, 2016. (SMU/MarySanfordMcClure)
img_5333
Rena Clayton Rolfe, 20, senior at SMU, stands in a neighborhood alleyway in Dallas, Texas October 14, 2016. (SMU/MarySanfordMcClure)
img_5288
A fresh puddle in Dallas, Texas after a rain on October 14, 2016. (SMU/MarySanfordMcClure)
img_5365
Rena Clayton Rolfe, 20, senior at SMU, kicks a puddle of fresh rain on October 14, 2016 in Dallas, Texas. (SMU/MarySanfordMcClure)

Sadly, I missed the rain Friday because I was in a meeting but the fresh puddles remained. Rena Clayton was walking outside in her rain boots. There were beautiful reflections that I just had to capture. The light was diffused through the clouds, so there were no harsh shadows.

I used depth of field as well: focusing on the puddle, Rena Clayton and the background. It was hard to capture the water droplets while keeping the rest of her body in focus in the reflection and keeping the background less distracting. I want the viewers eyes’ to be drawn straight to Rena Clayton’s reflection in the water. The horizon line was also very high in many of the pictures.

I enjoyed this assignment more than I thought I would. I have never really worked with water and reflections before.

Leave a Reply

