Nighttime Tennis

img_4024
Tegan Webster, 22, Marketing and French major holds her tennis racket on University Park’s tennis courts Friday, September 9, 2016.
img_4037
Tegan Webster, 22, Marketing and French major holds her tennis racket on University Park’s tennis courts Friday, September 9, 2016.
img_4058
Tegan Webster, 22, Marketing and French major holds her tennis racket on University Park’s tennis courts Friday, September 9, 2016.
img_4020
Tegan Webster, 22, Marketing and French major holds her tennis racket on University Park’s tennis courts Friday, September 9, 2016.
img_4042
Tegan Webster, 22, Marketing and French stands on University Park’s tennis courts Friday, September 9, 2016.

Nighttime photography sounded daunting from the start. I wasn’t sure what I was going to capture, and I’ve had Professor Hart’s words in my head on repeat, “capture moments.” I took that to heart in this assignment.

Friday night we were dressed and ready for some tennis when I decided to take advantage of the moment and complete the photo assignment. My friend and roommate, Tegan, decked out in her tennis uniform from high school, posed on the courts near SMU’s campus.

The lighting made the shots difficult to capture. I had to take into account the artificial light coming from the large overhead lamps and the darkness in the surrounding areas. I adjusted the iso, aperture and shutter speed to keep Tegan evenly lit.

I love these photos, and it helps that Tegan used to model.

 

Leave a Reply

