Direct, Artificial, and Diffused

IMG_3844
Henry Shepherd, 21, finance major, stands on Mckinney Avenue after eating lunch Sunday Sept. 4, 2016.
IMG_3862
Henry Shepherd, 21, finance major looks into the mirror at the Kappa Kappa Gamma sorority house Sunday Sept. 4, 2016.
IMG_5203 2
Henry Shepherd, 21, finance major, sits in Perkins Chapel Sunday Sept. 4, 2016.

I found this assignment to be much more difficult than the first. I couldn’t just take a photograph of just anything. I usually like guidance, but with the light limitations, I struggled to come up with something creative. This assignment pushed me outside my comfort zone and forced me to take advantage of moments throughout my day.

The sun started to come out from behind the clouds Sunday as my boyfriend and I left lunch. I have an obsession with walls, whether thats brick walls, murals, or wood paneled walls. He stood in front of the restaurant as the direct sunlight hit his face. One side is illuminated while the other is in shadow. Like Professor Hart said, photography is about capturing a moment. I had to take advantage of the sun bolding shining down.

I struggled most with the photograph containing artificial light. I feel like it is very difficult to capture a well lit photograph while in harsh artificial light. As my boyfriend walked me home, I decided to drag him inside the sorority house to see what artificial light we could find. After many tries, we found one that worked.

I was walking from church across campus and decided that Perkins Chapel might have diffused light streaming through its windows. I dragged my boyfriend inside and photographed him sitting in a pew. I love how you can see the light hitting the columns and lighting one side of his face. This is my favorite photograph from the assignment.

 

 

Leave a Reply

