A Future in Fashion

IMG_3753 2
Mary Sanford McClure, 21, Fashion Media major, sits at Luxury Garage Sale in Dallas, TX on Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016.
IMG_3776
Mary Sanford McClure, 21, Fashion Media major, stands between shoes at Luxury Garage Sale in Dallas, TX on Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016.
IMG_3797
Mary Sanford McClure, 21, Fashion Media major, poses next to a Luxury Garage Sale mannequin in Dallas, TX on Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016.

I struggled with this assignment for many reasons. First, I wanted to take a picture that represented me without spelling it out. I have always dreamed of working in the fashion industry, so my first thought was to incorporate my dream into my self portraits. After much thought, I came to the conclusion that taking pictures at the boutique at which I work made the most sense. I toyed with the mannequins and racks of clothing and shoes to compose the best shots.

It was difficult for me to capture the best lighting. The boutique has great floor to ceiling windows that allow natural light to enter the space. But because it is a store, there are darker places that light doesn’t always reach. I had to make the most of the light I had to capture a well-balanced photograph.

I wanted to not only capture my face but get creative with one of my favorite pairs of shoes. I liked the way the store had their shoes set up, so I jumped right in. After rearranging the angle multiple times, I liked the shot when I placed the camera on the ground shooting straight down the white panel.

I also didn’t want to make my photographs too serious. This is reflected in the third photo I posted. It shows my personality as well as my interests.

Overall, I am pleased with the photos I captured and believe they share my passions with the world.

Leave a Reply

